Raum

Author: Emma Donoghue
Publisher: Piper Verlag
ISBN: 9783492954488
Size: 17.36 MB
Format: PDF, Mobi
View: 68

Auch seinen fünften Geburtstag feiert Jack in Raum. Raum hat eine immer verschlossene Tür, ein Oberlicht und ist 12 Quadratmeter groß. Dort lebt der Kleine mit seiner Mutter. Dort wurde er auch geboren. Jack liebt es fernzusehen, denn da sieht er seine »Freunde«, die Cartoonfiguren. Aber er weiß, dass die Dinge hinter der Mattscheibe nicht echt sind – echt sind nur Ma, er und die Dinge in Raum. Bis der Tag kommt, an dem Ma ihm erklärt, dass es doch eine Welt da draußen gibt und dass sie versuchen müssen, aus Raum zu fliehen ... »Nerven zerreißend und fesselnd. ›Raum‹ – angeregt von der wahren Geschichte über Elisabeth Fritzl, eingesperrt mit ihren Kindern von ihrem Vater – ist die Geschichte einer Mutter und ihres Sohnes, deren Liebe sie das Unglaubliche überleben lässt.« Psychologies ZUM SPECIAL

The Room

Author: Hubert Selby
Publisher: Open Road Media
ISBN: 9781453235409
Size: 17.95 MB
Format: PDF, Kindle
View: 52

“A terrifying journey into the darkest corners of the psyche” by the author of Requiem for a Dream and Last Exit to Brooklyn (The Guardian). A small-time criminal sits alone in his cell, his mind reeling with sadistic thoughts of retribution against the police and, eventually, all those he believes have failed him throughout his life. A deeply disturbing exploration of a character the Guardian described as “a genuinely frightening American Psycho,” Hubert Selby Jr.’s second novel is made all the more chilling by the narrator’s brief flashes of humanity. The Room is a tale so terrifying the author himself couldn’t read it for decades after writing it. Called “brutal” by the New York Times when it was first published, it is a dark masterpiece about a man who may be temporarily trapped in jail, but whose true prison is his own anger, as he is enslaved by out-of-control passions and sickening fantasies of revenge. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Hubert Selby Jr. including rare photos from the author’s estate.

Stranger In The Room

Author: Amanda Kyle Williams
Publisher: Bantam
ISBN: 9780345534576
Size: 15.20 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 34

“One of the most addictive new series heroines since Stephanie Plum.”—The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Atlanta private investigator and ex–FBI profiler Keye Street wants nothing more than time alone with her boyfriend, Aaron—but, as usual, murder gets in the way. A.P.D. Lieutenant Aaron Rauser is called to the disturbing scene of the strangling death of a thirteen-year-old boy. Meanwhile, Keye, a recovering alcoholic, must deal with her emotionally fragile cousin, who has her own history of drug abuse and is now convinced that she is being stalked. But all hell breaks loose when another murder—the apparent hanging of an elderly man—hits disturbingly close to home for Keye. Though the two victims have almost nothing in common, there are bizarre similarities between this case and that of Aaron’s strangled teen. With the threat of more deaths to come, Keye works on pure instinct alone—and soon realizes that a killer is circling ever closer to the people she loves the most. BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Amanda Kyle Williams's Don't Talk to Strangers. Praise for Amanda Kyle Williams and Stranger in the Room “Keye Street remains the most interesting, cynically funny and smart series detective today. . . . The tension buzzes like cicadas on a hot Georgia night and the pace is relentless.”—Seattle Post-Intelligencer “The best fictional female P.I. since Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone.”—The Plain Dealer “Keye Street immediately puts herself in the top echelon of suspense heroes. She’s a mess of fascinating contradictions—effortlessly brilliant on a case, totally inept in managing her own life. She is brutally funny and powerfully human—one of the most realistic protagonists in crime fiction that I’ve had the thrill to read.”—Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Last to Die “There’s a new voice in Atlanta, and her name is Amanda Kyle Williams—captivating, powerful and compelling.”—Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of One Was a Soldier “Readers of this fast-paced thriller will be eager for the next Street tale.”—Publishers Weekly

The Room

Author: Jonas Karlsson
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781448191253
Size: 20.32 MB
Format: PDF
View: 87

The Authority looks favourably upon meticulousness, efficiency and ambition. Bjorn has all of this in spades, but it's only in the Room that he can really shine. Unfortunately, his colleagues see things differently. In fact, they don't even see the Room at all. The Room is a short, sharp and fiendish fable in the tradition of Franz Kafka, Samuel Beckett and Charlie Kauffman. If you have ever toiled in an office, felt like the world was against you or questioned the nature of reality then this is the novel for you.

The Forgotten Room

Author: Lincoln Child
Publisher: Anchor
ISBN: 9780385531412
Size: 14.84 MB
Format: PDF
View: 32

A LONG-LOST EXPERIMENT OF UNGUESSABLE INTENT A SECRET ROOM, INGENIOUSLY HIDDEN INSIDE A VAST SEACOAST MANSION NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR LINCOLN CHILD AT HIS RIVETING BEST Professor Jeremy Logan (the quirky and charismatic “enigmalogist” who specializes in solving problems of the strange or seemingly supernatural variety) receives an urgent summons from the director of Lux, one of the oldest and most respected think tanks in America. An unexplainable tragedy has taken place in the sprawling compound located on the coastline of Newport, Rhode Island. One of Lux’s most distinguished doctors, overcome by erratic behavior, violently attacked his assistant before meeting with a gruesome self-inflflflffllflicted end. Deeply shaken by the incident and the bizarre evidence left behind from the doctor’s final project—as well as recent troubling behavior among several of the think tank’s other scientists—Lux fears there is something more sinister occurring within its walls and looks to Jeremy Logan to investigate. Logan quickly makes a surprising discovery. In a long-dormant wing of the estate, he uncovers an ingeniously hidden secret room, unknown and untouched for decades. The room is essentially a time capsule, fiffiilled with eerie machinery and obscure references to a top-secret experiment known as “Project S.” As Logan attempts to unravel its meaning, he begins to discern what transpired in that room—and why the frightening project was suddenly abandoned and sealed off many years before. As his work draws him ever deeper into harm’s way, Logan soon unleashes a series of catastrophic events upon the rest of Lux . . . and himself. One of Lincoln Child’s most thrilling novels to date, The Forgotten Room is replete with exhilarating action, veiled history, and mesmerizing science—making for a truly intelligent page-turner. From the Hardcover edition.